Six things I wish my professors understood

1)No matter how much I care about my education, my faith and my family will come first on my priority list. Sometimes things come up, and this means that assignments are going to be late. This is not a reflection of my lack of caring, it’s a reflection of my correct priorities. I will happily accept the point loss for the late assignment; however, the guilt trip is absolutely not helpful. If I didn’t care about my education, I wouldn’t be spending thousands of dollars on it each quarter, I promise!

2)If students ask questions it’s probably because they want to learn! Please don’t give a vague response like “the answer to that question is included in course materials” when I specifically told you that I have reviewed all the materials and I cannot find information I need to succeed.

3)Nobody excels in classes that combine something they aren’t good at with something they don’t care about. I will apply myself and complete my coursework, but please don’t expect me to feel enthusiastic about analysis of variance, correlation coefficients, or anything else that pertains to statistics. It’s just not in me.

4)Some of us just struggle with higher level math. We excel at other things, but not at this. We aren’t trying to be stupid. We honestly don’t get it. Please refer to number 2, and take mercy on our poor challenged souls by answering our questions.

5)Lectures are far more helpful when you organize your thoughts. Highlight a main point, and then give details about it for at least 30 seconds. This gives us time to write it down. Then introduce a related main point and continue. Lectures that jump all over the course materials without any outline are really hard for us to follow. The material might be familiar to you; but we are trying to create a whole new framework in our brain, and structure is highly helpful.

6)We have such a huge amount of appreciation and respect for professors who really know the material they teach, who go the extra mile to communicate clearly, who genuinely want us to succeed, and who care about us as human beings. They will have a lasting impact on our lives. Sometimes we forget to say thank you, but we are grateful.

About annamarieklikan

I am a 24 years old, and and I am still trying to figure out what I want to do when I "grow up". I am a follower of Jesus, a happy wife, an avid reader, a lover of all animals, and a self-admitted goofball sometimes. I work as an in home caregiver for the elderly, and I enjoy life as much as possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

