My Terrible, Horrible, Incredibly Blessed Morning

Today was one of those mornings that I just couldn’t seem to get myself together in a timely manner. I hit snooze more than my allotted two times.  I keep hoping one day I will morph into a morning person and pop out of bed at 5am with a smile on my face and pep in my step; sadly that hasn’t happened yet.  After realizing I was getting a few minutes later start than I should, I slowly extracted myself from the warm cocoon of comfort that is our bed. A few miserable groans may have escaped at this point. Off to the bathroom I went to wash my face and get ready for the day. As I was washing my face I can’t help but notice the gargantuan zit on the end of my nose.  I think to myself “good morning Rudolph” and almost smirk the idea of just wearing reindeer antlers to work and going with it. Christmas is just around the corner anyway……I decide that I would be way to embarrassed and just try to forget it is there; which of course I cannot.

The rest of the morning involves burning my finger on the stove because I am especially klutzy when I am sleepy, spilling milk all over the kitchen floor and spending several minutes trying in vain to remove the piece of eggshell that hopped of its own volition into the pan of eggs I was scrambling. After failing several times to retrieve said piece of shell, I said a silent prayer that it would just end up on my plate instead of my husbands, and served breakfast anyway.

Shortly thereafter hubby headed off to work and I packed my lunch and got ready to leave too. I was running about 5-10 minutes late by now.  I ran out the door with no coat to get to the bottom of the covered stairway and discover a serious rainstorm in process. “oh well. I don’t have time now.”  So I make a mad dash for my car. I was safely enroute to my client’s house when I looked in the mirror and realized I never got back to the bathroom to put on my makeup. Oh well – it’s to be Au Natural today I guess. I don’t wear makeup everyday anyhow, but when my acne is particularly obvious I do try to cover it up a bit.

Traffic is light, and I start to calm down, realizing I will probably make it to work on time in spite of my late start. I take a deep breath and think “wow, I feel pretty comfortable, actually. I think I like these clothes.”  This nice thought pattern is soon followed by one of horror as I adjust my seatbelt and then realize I altogether forgot to put on a bra. “What the heck is wrong with me today? I’ve only been getting dressed the exact same way for the last 14 years now. Why did my brain suddenly decide it would be fun to skip a step? Oh this is so not a good day.” Frantically I try to come up with a solution. Go back home and get one?  I am already nearly at work; it’s an hour long commute on Fridays.  Just be a little hot and wear a coat all day?  Don’t have one.  Just rock the braless look?  Maybe no one will notice; or if they do they might think what an empowered woman I am; free from societies sexist clothing standards! Um no, I am way too big for that nonsense and I know it.  I am not coming up with any solution to this situation.

bra 2 bras

Then, by the grace of God, I then I recall the bag of extra clothes I always keep buried in my trunk. It contains a full set of clothing. I have had this practice for a long time – I also have a case of water bottles, an emergency and first aid kit, dehydrated food, and several blankets. I like to be prepared. (That is kind of a really major understatement. I have a crisis of personal security if I am not able to control my preparedness for whatever given situation I may face. Yes, I realize it’s probably not a healthy need for control. It has however, saved me from potential danger, discomfort, and like today, embarrassment. Being prepared is really helpful! You never know when you might get stranded somewhere or a global zombie apocalypse will happen, or you will be dehydrated, or you might forget to wear a bra. In any case – if I have my car, I am prepared for what may come.)

With a sigh of relief that my momentary crisis had been resolved, I turned on my car radio. Maybe some music would help me forget the rest of my morning and put me in a better mood. Christmas music poured out of my speakers. “Jingle Bell Rock” Nope, I wanted something calm today. I pushed number two and the station switched over. Here is the song that was playing:

I have loved this song since I first heard it. What a precious gift – the baby Jesus born into our sinful world so long ago. What a difficult idea to grasp- the future that awaited this tiny perfectly innocent child; the great pain he would suffer to save us. He stepped into our world of bad decisions and hurt and loss and stress and created a way for us to escape the consequence of our sin. He took it all willingly and paid a price for me that I could never pay for myself. He made himself at home in our world of chaos, and he brought us peace.

In light of this truth, my spirit always returns to a state of gratitude. When I realize all that has been done for me and all that I have been saved from, little things that frustrate me don’t seem to matter anymore. In light of this gift, the horrible things in this world do not seem as overwhelming. I think of the situation in Ferguson and all the hurting people in that city and I feel so conflicted. I long for a world with mutual respect and cooperation, but I know it has not come yet. I wish that everyone understood that violence is not the answer, but they do not.  The words of this song are true.

“Bring your peace into our violence
Bid our hungry souls be filled
World now breaking Heaven’s silence
Welcome to our world”

Through Jesus, we can bring peace into violence. Through the provision of God, we can be a part of feeding hungry souls. With our prayers we can cry to heaven for help. I am so grateful that Jesus came into my world and equipped me to go into the world of hurting people.

Today I realize that in spite of my trials and the difficult situations around me, I am so incredibly blessed. I have hope, and peace, and provision.   Regardless of what else happens today, I know I won’t lose sight of that again.

About annamarieklikan

I am a 24 years old, and and I am still trying to figure out what I want to do when I "grow up". I am a follower of Jesus, a happy wife, an avid reader, a lover of all animals, and a self-admitted goofball sometimes. I work as an in home caregiver for the elderly, and I enjoy life as much as possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Terrible, Horrible, Incredibly Blessed Morning

  1. Elva Hall says:

    Thanks again, Anna, for sharing your thoughts on your blog. We are truly so very blessed, and I appreciate your way of expressing it. I’m glad you carry an emergency kit, and that you had the right “necessity” in it!!

Leave a Reply

