What a difference one year can make!

I remember having a conversation with my mom about a year and a half ago. I was being a melodramatic 22 year old, and worrying about my future unnecessarily. I tend to do that frequently, the worrying about things that I have no control over. I think it is a genetic trait.

My fretful monologue went something like this: “I know I am only 22, and that seems pretty young. These days a lot of people don’t get married until they are closer to 30. But the thing is that doctors say you really ought to start having children before you turn 30, and everyone says you should date someone a few years before getting married, and then once you are married, it seems like a good idea to wait a couple years before starting your family. So really, I need to meet someone in the next year or two if I want to have kids!” In my young mind, this seemed like a really pressing issue. I know it seems a little crazy when you say it out loud, but I promise I am not the only young woman to go through this dialogue. (Some of my peers may have the good sense to keep this line of thought in their own minds though!)

My mother, such a patient woman, listened to my tirade, and then calmly smiled at me and said “Honey, a lot can happen in a year. God’s timing is best, and he already has a plan for you.” I agreed that God had it under control, but I didn’t really relinquish control completely enough to stop worrying over this issue. I knew she was right, but somehow I just couldn’t picture a whole lot changing in my life in one year.

A few months later, I got laid off from my job at a dairy farm. My boss encouraged me to use the time to go back to school. I had wanted to pursue something in the medical field, and caregiving seemed like a good starting point. I enrolled myself in an accelerated course to become a Certified Nursing Aide. My grandma agreed to let me live with her during the week to save me gas and ferry money. Her house was only a few miles from my school. So began my transition from Islander to Townie. A few weeks into the course, the agency who ran my school offered me a job. They said they had a client who needed someone immediately. It was a full time position. Since I was unemployed, I jumped at the chance. I went to school that morning, expecting to go home at 2. Instead, I was given a badge, page straight off of MapQuest, and off I went on my first caregiving adventure.

In the beginning of the year, I also decided to give online dating a try. I didn’t actually expect it to work for me, but a lot of people had suggested it and I knew a number of folks who met their husband or wife that way and they seem very happy. I thought that it likely wouldn’t work for me, but at least I would have a response when people suggested that to me in the future. I would simply say “Oh, I tried it and it just wasn’t for me.” I planned to put a profile on a Christian dating site, and remove it after one week. I worked up the nerve late one night and did it. A few days went by, a few creeps emailed me. This is easy enough, I thought. But on the third day, I received an email from the man who is now my husband. I didn’t want to meet someone that way. But there was just nothing wrong with him. And as much as you can like someone without ever meeting them yet, I liked him. I decided that simply meeting someone in an unlikely way just wasn’t a good enough reason not to get to know them. I am so glad I made that decision.

We emailed for a while, met, dated and fell in love. Last month we got married. If you would have told me a year ago that in one year I would be married, I would have laughed in your face and said you were crazy. But it’s true.

My momma was so right. A lot can happen in one year. God’s timing was best, and He had a plan for me.

What an adventure this year has been. It has been fulfilling beyond my wildest dreams; full of new experiences, adventures, laughter and love. I am looking forward to 2014 as a year to grow in our marriage, and in the Lord. It’s going to be a year to experience lots of new and amazing things with this wonderful man at my side.

Happy New Year, everyone!

About annamarieklikan

I am a 24 years old, and and I am still trying to figure out what I want to do when I "grow up". I am a follower of Jesus, a happy wife, an avid reader, a lover of all animals, and a self-admitted goofball sometimes. I work as an in home caregiver for the elderly, and I enjoy life as much as possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

