Lessons from a cold, and a sinus infection, and a double ear infection:

1)      Patience is not, in fact, overrated.  It is a rare and valuable commodity that I am still developing.  Sitting on my butt for 8 days has driven this one home really well.  At times I am zen about this whole situation, and I just sit here patiently.  At other times I worry myself nearly sick and want to pull my hair out.  Overall, I need more patience, and I am developing that.

2)      You cannot ever, and I really mean ever, have too many Kleenex.  I used to think it was funny that my client, Mrs. Kay, has a stockpile of about 12 boxes in her pantry, but I now view that stockpile as one of the world’s wisest.  Because when you are sick, you don’t want to have to drag your pajama clad, snot-smeared, disheveled self out to the store to contaminate the world with your plague inducing germs just to get more Kleenex .  You should have everything you need to be sick for a while on hand.  And although 12 boxes seems excessive, I think I finished up box  number 8 this morning (not counting the 3 rolls of TP I used the day we were out!), so maybe that puts things into perspective.

kleenex garbage can

3)      Along these same lines, buying any kind of Kleenex that isn’t very very soft and lotion infused is just a waste of time, and if you get sick, it will leave you with a nose so chapped that you will be reduced to putting chapstick on it, which really is a gross feeling.

sad chapstick nose

4)      Having ear infections makes you dizzy.  At least it does for me.  Like really really dizzy.  It’s disorienting.  It also makes you hard of hearing.  I have said “what?” more in the last few days…

5)      When babies cry with an ear infection, it is because they hurt like something my readers wouldn’t appreciate hearing.  Please comfort them, and give them some sort of pain meds.

6)      Having a sinus infection can make your entire face hurt.  I have had these before, but never experienced this.  It is highly unpleasant, and I don’t recommend trying it at home.

7)      Sudaphed non-drowsy is a lie.  It is super duper-drowsy, only it comes with what I like to call ‘bonus adrenaline checks’.   You repeatedly fall asleep because you cannot stay awake, only to wake up with your heart pounding and this feeling like something horrible either just happened, or is about to.  It’s slightly traumatizing.  It is also a know side effect that not everyone gets.  I was just one of the lucky ones.

8)      According to my ER doctor, (and for me it proved to be true) Naproxen Sodium (I think this is the drug name for Alleve, but I am not positive) is the most effective otc  pain med for face and ear pain.  Not sure why this is true, but it seems to be.  Tylenol and Ibuprofen weren’t helping at all.

9)      Taste and smell are more valuable than I realized.   This is day 8 of not tasting or smelling anything except REALLY strong garlic or onion, and spicy.  I miss eating things that taste and smell good to me.   I miss being able to smell myself so I would know if I stink (I am bathing every day, just to be safe!), or I could enjoy the smell of lotion or perfume if I used them.  When I get those senses back, I am going to remember to be thankful for them.

10)   Living in a first world country where there is good medical help available around the clock is a huge privilege.  I may not agree with some ideas of western medicine, but I am truly thankful for having help available when I need it.  In many countries around the world, I would still be laying down, crying in pain, actively losing my hearing, and possibly my life if the infection continued to spread.  Instead I am comfortable, taking antibiotics to help me heal, and able to rest in a warm dry house.

11)   Even when I feel miserable and sick, and I am beyond ready to get up on my feet and feel good and go back to my usual busy life, I am very blessed.  I have learned this last week the value of some things I normally don’t consider.  I have been reminded of the many loving people who make up my friends and family, who are praying, caring, sending me cute baby goat and baby human pictures, sending me flowers, stopping by to lend me movies, or drop off another box of Kleenex.  People who sacrifice their sleep to drive me to the ER at midnight because my head is hurting so bad.   And people like you, who read what I write, and keep up with me online because you care.

Thank you all.  I look forward to being well again, but for now I am thankful for the many blessings I have in spite of being sick.

About annamarieklikan

I am in my late twenties; I am a follower of Jesus, a happy wife, an avid reader, a lover of all animals, a professional scheduling coordinator (less glamorous than it sounds) and a self-admitted goofball sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lessons from a cold, and a sinus infection, and a double ear infection:

  1. Rachel says:

    I am glad you are feeling better! Being sick is scary, and sucks. I hate ear infections. 😦

  2. mariya says:

    So glad your on the mend! when your sick time seems to DRAG..

  3. landon says:

    being sick is sucks ! but teach us the meaning of life 😉

  4. earache says:

    i hate being sick 😦 can u tell me what antibiotics that you take ?

  5. They put me on a 10 day round of amoxocillin. By the time 10 days was up, I was feeling much better. I hope you heal quickly too.

  6. ear pain says:

    yes! stockpile as one of the world’s wisest 😀
    can you tell me what is Sudaphed non-drowsy ?

Leave a Reply

