Peace starts in our hearts

To the Saturday Bayview Corner Peace Protesters:

First of all, I want to say that I admire you all.  I appreciate the devotion it takes to stand in the heat and in the cold, holding a sign for something you truly believe in.  Peace is a worthy cause; and is something we all should work towards.   I believe you all have kind hearts, and you want to see the pain caused by war end.  That is something I would love to see as well.

I understand that protesting and picketing has a place.  It is a viable and peaceful way of getting a message out.  No one is hurt, and no one is bullied by it.  I appreciate that.  Holding signs can be important.

With that said I would like to offer some insight which is truly meant as constructive criticism, not as an insult.

If peace is truly what you want, please don’t just stand for peace on Saturdays, holding signs.  Please walk for peace, walk into a local charity and volunteer.  Please serve for peace, go to Union Gospel Mission, or to Good Cheer Food bank or to Toys for Tots and give your time.  Please support worthy causes for peace.  Perhaps you all could coordinate and have 1 or 2 people stand and hold signs, and the rest of you could actively be involved in fostering the attitudes that foster peace; love, reconciliation, global understanding and empathy.  Every time I drive by the group of you, it strikes me how much we could accomplish for our community every Saturday if most of you were out serving and loving instead of holding signs.

So please, I implore you.  Volunteer.  Get a sponsor child though World Vision or Samaritan’s purse. Get involved with our school system’s exchange student program.    Show love and compassion to those around you.  If you want peace, please go and do something about it.  Please realize that Global peace is not going to become a reality because we held signs.  Peace has to start in you.  It has to start in our families, our communities, and our country.   Please put down your signs and go out and practice peace.  Express love, show compassion, practice forgiveness, give your time and your service to worthy causes, teach understanding and empathy to the next generation.  This fosters peace, and in my opinion, is far more effective than holding a sign.

If I have offended anyone, I am truly sorry.  I really do admire you all.  I appreciate you.  Perhaps my attitude is partially due to my youth, and perhaps holding signs is far more important than I realize.  If this is how you feel, I will only continue to admire your devotion to your cause, and I will pray that I can understand how it has greater value than I currently can see.  Thank you for your compassion, and your desire to see peace on Earth.

May you be blessed with true peace from God this Christmas Season.

Sincerely,

Anna Breedlove

About annamarieklikan

I am a 24 years old, and and I am still trying to figure out what I want to do when I "grow up". I am a follower of Jesus, a happy wife, an avid reader, a lover of all animals, and a self-admitted goofball sometimes. I work as an in home caregiver for the elderly, and I enjoy life as much as possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Peace starts in our hearts

  1. Marlene Joy says:

    thoughtfully written! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

