A vacation filled with restful exhaustion, joy, happiness and adventure

This vacation has been like no other I can remember.  A week so filled with fun, activity, exercise and companionship that I hardly have had time to think, but I feel rested in a way that I never accomplish at home.  My sun-burnt, dry skinned sore and exhausted body is filled with an inner peace and joy that comes from spending time with people you love,  while celebrating life exactly as it is.

Most mornings have been devoted to exercise, after a nutritious breakfast, of course.   We have walked a few miles or biked a few miles almost every morning.  After showers and making and packing our lunches and snacks, we load up and head out for the day.  We have gone so many places!  We went to a beautiful park one day; along a river with walking trails through the woods, and a sandy beach with colorful crystal-like rocks.

Another day we went to Sushi for lunch, and went thrift store shopping.  We have been to various family member’s houses to visit and catch up; and enjoyed a delicious freshly-caught fish and crab dinner at one.

We took the kids to a water fountain play area one night, and had a picnic on a blanket in the sunshine and watched them discover the joy of water play.

We went to a rhododendron gardens where we saw ducks, geese, grey squirrels  and little muskrats called neutrena.   The gardens itself was gorgeous, and we looked to our heart’s content.

We took a day trip to the Oregon Coast with our cousins and their two little boys, as well as two of our younger girl cousins.  We rode a bicycle buggy with all nine of us mushed into it, creaking and wheeling along the streets of Seaside Oregon a midst gales of laughter, with the 2 babies in the carrier on the front, taking it all in.  We jumped waves, and body surfed and played in the sand on the beach and got sun-burnt in spite of our application and re-application of sunscreen.

Today we swam in a lovely private pool owned by some friends of our extended family.  We enjoyed the sunshine and companionship, the floaty-toys, the cool blue water and the waterslide, and the teriyaki dinner afterwards.

I have been so blessed with this vacation, with my wonderful sister and her adorable daughter, with my lovely cousins, my aunts and uncles, the beautiful world that God gave us to enjoy, and with the celebration of life itself.  This week I have made memories I will treasure for a lifetime.   I cannot remember any other time when I have laughed this often out of sheer joy and happiness. My heart is full of gratitude and the anticipation of a re-creating this time together with new memories next year.

Pictures are easier to upload to Facebook, so feel free to view them there.  My username is Anna Marie Love.

About annamarieklikan

I am in my late twenties; I am a follower of Jesus, a happy wife, an avid reader, a lover of all animals, a professional scheduling coordinator (less glamorous than it sounds) and a self-admitted goofball sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A vacation filled with restful exhaustion, joy, happiness and adventure

  1. Mariya says:

    Thank you for This trip into words. I have tried several times, but the trip has been so expansive I have had a hard time finding the right words to do it justice, alas you did it:)
    It has been a blessing to share this week with you. 🙂

  2. Joy says:

    Loved having you here with us! I enjoy your company so much and love seeing the woman you are becoming!

  3. Melly says:

    So happy you and Mariya had such a wonderful good time baby bear! Love you bales & bunches, Mama bear xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

Leave a Reply

