Blessings Floating By

Small things often flow by us in the stream of life without our fully noticing them. When stress is overwhelming, or grief is present, or anxiety is knocking on the door or your heart, noticing the small blessings can seem quite the challenge. I like to think of donning my goggles, plunging my head into the water of life, and going diving for joy and gratitude. Sometimes the water is really cold, and the current is strong, and I would rather stay on the surface; but those little blessings – they are hiding, sliding right past me, waiting to be noticed.

As I learn to choose to live in the moment, I find these small blessings all around me! Each one brings a smile to my face, and gratitude to my heart.

These are a few of my small blessings recently:

The giggles that were erupting from a small girl as she whizzed down a big slide with her arms outstretched for me to catch her. Her little grin lighting up her face; so sweet and so adorable.

A hot bubble bath after a long day of work.

The satisfaction of seeing my vegetables pop their little green heads up from underground and start growing like there is no tomorrow. I get so very excited watching them grow and planning out what dishes I will make with them later.

The feeling of soft baby lamb’s wool on my cheek as I cuddle the farm’s newest arrival. Watching his adorable little face as he explores the world that is so new to him.

Anticipating the arrival of new babies from friends and family members, and wondering what they will look like, and if they are boys or girls. Looking forward to the games of peekaboo, and the baby kisses and snuggles.

The warm feeling of a few minutes of sunshine on my skin.

Watching the juice drip of Sasha’s chin as she delightedly munches a tomato that had gotten a bit over-ripe for my tastes. Oh how that goat loves her tomatoes.

A good skin day.

The knowledge that the choices I am making are improving my health dramatically, and the way my body feels; healthier and lighter.

The constant friend I have in Jesus. I am never alone, never hopeless, and never abandoned.

Although I could go on all night, I will stop there. Life is so full of blessings; they are all around us, quietly slipping by unnoticed.

I would like to challenge all of you to write down some of your blessings this week. Write the small ones and the big ones. Create a gratitude book. When you record something, it has the power to bless you over and over. And who doesn’t need a blessing from time to time? πŸ™‚

About annamarieklikan

I am a 24 years old, and and I am still trying to figure out what I want to do when I "grow up". I am a follower of Jesus, a happy wife, an avid reader, a lover of all animals, and a self-admitted goofball sometimes. I work as an in home caregiver for the elderly, and I enjoy life as much as possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blessings Floating By

  1. Joy says:

    What words of wisdom! God has given you such a sweet sweet spirit. I am happy to learn from you!

Leave a Reply

