A bit of my journey to better health

As many of you know, I have made some life choices lately to be more healthy. Several people have requested that I write a blog about it, so I did. It is my hope that perhaps it will inspire some of you to make similar choices and improve your health. After all, your body is your home; and if you destroy it, where else are you gonna live? For those of us who are Christians, it is also about stewardship of the amazing gift that our bodies are to us.

5 Things that have improved my health and quality of life recently:

1- Choosing to avoid caffeine for the most part. I have always loved the flavor of coffee, sugar, cream etc. I have never been a morning person. I had developed quite a coffee habit over the last few years partly as an attempt to cope with a daily schedule my body didn’t agree with, and partly as an indulgence. After 3+months of rarely if ever having caffiene, I sleep better, fall alseep much more easily at night and surprisingly, have an easier time waking up every morning.

2- Choosing to make exercise a priority. Six days a week I make sure that my day includes some cardio Having a fairly physical job makes this much easier – but I still often end up going for a walk or hopping on the elliptical when I had a less physical day at the farm. My body still complains sometimes during the workouts – but I know it will thank me later when I don’t end up getting high blood pressure or diabetes as a result of being overweight.

3-Giving up all white flour, sugar, corn syrup, trans fats, and most highly processed foods. I chose a healthy eating plan and Mom and I have done it together for about 2.5 months now. It doesn’t require that you give up any food groups, only the things listed above – which once you get the hang of it, are quite easy to live without. As a result we have both shed some extra pounds. Mom is down 15, and I am down 19. We have also both noticed that we feel stronger, and more eneregetic.

4-Getting at least 7 hours of sleep almost every night. Due to the above mentioned caffeine habit I had going, I was having a hard time sleeping, and would often struggle with insomnia at night. Now I drift right off, and sleep soundly till morning. Mornings are easier to face with a solid night’s sleep behind you.

5- Finding a workplace where I get to be physically as well as mentally active for a good part of the day, where I believe in what I am doing, and where I have employers that build me up instead of tearing me down. This has improved both my physical and emotional health.

I still have quite a few pounds to loose, and more choices to make everyday on this path to better health – this is only what I have worked on so far. Anybody care to join me in the rest of the journey? 🙂

About annamarieklikan

I am in my late twenties; I am a follower of Jesus, a happy wife, an avid reader, a lover of all animals, a professional scheduling coordinator (less glamorous than it sounds) and a self-admitted goofball sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A bit of my journey to better health

  1. Mariya says:

    Soooo increadibly happy for you!!! So glad you have a partener and support, I know how much better i do when I have both thoes things. I’m with you guys on this journey 🙂 10lbs for me:-) and feeling better and better everyday! Keep you the good work!

Leave a Reply

