Brilliant Design

I saw a wonderful example of Brilliant Design this week at the farm – but first let me fill you in on a little background.

While in school, I was introduced to the idea of evolution.  Our high school science text books teach us that humans have evolved from apes, who evolved from…. who evolved from….who evolved from organic slime.  While I can hardly argue with micro-evolution (ie, birds with longer beaks to break open nuts will thrive in a nut-filled area, and eventually the birds in that area will primarily have longer beaks.) I am honestly not convinced of evolution as a way to man’s existence.

One thing I am convinced of, is that the beautiful and varied creation around me didn’t just happen.  It was intelligently designed.  Brilliantly Designed!

I have had the opportunity to learn about the many aspects of goat husbandry this year, while working at Little Brown Farm.  First I learned what was needed for a goat’s basic health: how to pick quality food, keep hooves trimmed, preventative medical care, etc.  I then learned the breeding process – how to pick matches to carry on desired traits, and you know… the birds and the bees.  During this current season, I get to experience something new: kidding.  Prior to seeing my first goat birth, the largest thing I had really watched give birth was a rabbit. I have now seen 8 baby goats enter the world, and have assisted with the births.  It has been highly educational!  I know I will experience many more goats kidding this spring, and no doubt I have boatloads left to learn.  But may I share a few observations thus far?  I promise not to be too graphic.  🙂

 One of our newcomers this week – about an hour old.  Cute, isn’t he?

1- Watching new life enter the world is completely amazing

2-There is far more goo and slime involved than I had previously imagined (thankfully I am not at all squeamish!)

3-I will always be more grateful for the milk that I drink now – an animal mom somewhere worked very hard to have a baby so she could be milked

4- Goats recover incredibly quickly –  They stand up after having babies and go get some dinner- as though birth is an every day experience.

5- Even the experienced goat keepers (Tom and Vicky in my case) always get to see something new during kidding season.  Two days ago we had a baby who was about 10 seconds old- still sopping wet- grab a piece of straw and start munching it down.  I guess he was hungry!  Vicky said she had never seen that before…

6-This is the best one!  The reason I wrote this blog.  Baby goats are born with little ballet slippers on.  Yep, that’s right.  They have little soft white hoof covers on when they are born.  The reason for these is so that the baby’s sharp little hooves don’t hurt mom’s uterus before they are born.  The covers fall off within about an hour of birth – so if you don’t see one just born, you will never get to see the slippers.  When I discovered this – all I could think was “BRILLIANT DESIGN!”

See the white part?  that is the ballet slipper.  The black part is the hoof that will stay in place after the cover falls off.  Amazing, huh?

I am thankful for my ongoing learning experience at the farm, where I am surrounded by lovely creatures who have God’s fingerprints all over them.  I am thankful for all of creation which was intelligently and brilliantly designed.  And I am most thankful for its brilliant designer.

 

 

 

About annamarieklikan

I am in my late twenties; I am a follower of Jesus, a happy wife, an avid reader, a lover of all animals, a professional scheduling coordinator (less glamorous than it sounds) and a self-admitted goofball sometimes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brilliant Design

  1. Marlene Joy says:

    Very insightful. You cause me to be thankful!

  2. Shea says:

    That is so neat! I had never thought about appreciating the kid barring the mama goat/cow has to go through to bring me milk! It definitely make me appreciate where my food comes from a little more, Thanks Anna

Leave a Reply

