Once in a while you find a group of people with whom you can be yourself…

Sometimes I feel like I am socially challenged.  Perhaps it is my introverted nature, my homeschooling years, my lack of socialization as a child, or just my sometimes stuck up attitude, but whatever it is, it makes me feel socially challenged.

You see, in some social groups I am fine.  Typically in groups where I know everyone well, or in groups of people my parent’s age and older I am do fine.  But stick me in a room with a bunch of my peers that I don’t know well, and I will clam up faster than a mollusk out of water!   I am not sure why – but I find it hard to relate to people who are my age.  This has, in the past made youth groups and other social gatherings uncomfortable for me.

In the last year or two however that has changed.  I found a bible study group where I feel at home.  We are a motley crew of guys and girls from late teens to about 30.  In all honesty most of us are odd ducks.  (no offense please bible study buds – I love you all just way you are!) I am just as much of an odd duck as any of us.  Most of us come from dysfunctional and/or very unusual family situations, and that ends up reflecting in our behavior sometimes… which often makes me wonder why anyone would want to keep inviting us in and spending time investing in us.

Our bible study is hosted by this wonderful couple who love all of us.  They are about our parents age and they always make a nice dinner which we all eat around their table family style.  They ask us about our week, and genuinely care how we are doing.  They love us right amidst whatever dysfunction we might currently be in.  They model a Godly and healthy marriage, which is so important for many of us whose parents have been split up from when we were young.  They show us how they can as a team, serve God and their community.   They are changing the world one young person at a time.  They get it.  We all just want love and acceptance.   We want to be valued in spite of our rough edges and quirks.   And as young Christians, we need to be discipled by older beleivers who can help us learn and grow, both in our faith and in our everyday lives.

I am so thankful to belong to a group of such fantastic people.  Thank you all for being yourselves, you make me feel like I can be myself too.  🙂

Merry Christmas!

About annamarieklikan

I am a 24 years old, and and I am still trying to figure out what I want to do when I "grow up". I am a follower of Jesus, a happy wife, an avid reader, a lover of all animals, and a self-admitted goofball sometimes. I work as an in home caregiver for the elderly, and I enjoy life as much as possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Once in a while you find a group of people with whom you can be yourself…

  1. Marilyn Jeffers says:

    Thank you for sharing your heart Anna!!! You’re not alone!!! Believe it or not, there are some 60+er’s out here who feel the same way in groups because of the dysfunction of their past. Praise God for people who reach out, draw in, accept unconditionally, love and pray for those that God puts in their lives. Your thoughts touched my heart deeply!!

  2. Aunt Joy says:

    How wonderful for all of you to have a found a bible study group with leaders that can love you where you are – that is what God wants of all of us! Kudos to your leaders for living the life that God wants for them.

  3. Shea says:

    Tell everyone at study that I am thinking about them!
    Love Always,
    A traveling odd duck

  4. As a 50+ odd duck, I totally get it. Grateful for those who are investing in your life, and those who have invested in mine. Us introverts can have much to offer when we are given a safe space to learn and grow and thrive. Grateful for the folks in my church who have given me that space.

Leave a Reply

