We may both have ruby throats….

Today I learned something about hummingbirds.  One of the things I like to do when I am able is online research.  Having recently seen a pretty little humming bird with a red throat at someone’s local feeder, I wondered if it was a ruby throated hummingbird.  Normally I would have assumed that it was, but I thought I remembered learning that the rubies migrate down to southern America each year to winter over in warmer climates.

I looked it up, and sure enough most varieties, (including rubies) of the fluffy little hummers get this urge to migrate for huge distances, going up to 500 miles in a day without stopping.  Wow!  I never would have guessed they have that kind of stamina!  This left me with the question of what kind of humming bird I had recently seen at a local feeder.  He had a red throat all right, and was quite a cute little fellow.  I went to Google and typed in something like “red-throated hummingbirds that winter over in Washington”.  Guess what popped up first thing?  They are called “Anna’s Hummingbirds”.  That really is their given name.  I looked at a picture to be sure I had found the right variety, and sure enough!

You might be wondering why I found this information relevant or interesting enough to post on my blog.  Well, let me explain a bit.  Tonight one of my very best friends came over to spend her last bit of time with me before embarking on a huge adventure that may just end up being life-long.  You see, she has this urge to travel, to have adventure, to see new things.  It is as much a part of her as it is for those little birds; it is an instinct and an integral part of who she is.  It is who God made her to be.

Sometimes when I am surrounded with others who seem to love adventure and change, I wonder if there is something wrong with me.  I am completely satisfied to stay at home, here in my cozy house, on this little Island in the Puget Sound.  I like it here.  It is what I know, what is familiar, and what I can come home to after brief adventures out in the big world.

Tonight I realized that there is nothing wrong with me.  I am Anna.  I am like those little hummingbirds that winter over, and stay local.  It is ok to be local.  It is who God made me to be.

As much as I will miss this friend, I know we will keep in touch.  And I have peace in my heart, knowing we are both living as the people God made us to be.

We may both have ruby throats, but God made us for different purposes.

 

 

About annamarieklikan

I am a 24 years old, and and I am still trying to figure out what I want to do when I "grow up". I am a follower of Jesus, a happy wife, an avid reader, a lover of all animals, and a self-admitted goofball sometimes. I work as an in home caregiver for the elderly, and I enjoy life as much as possible.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We may both have ruby throats….

  1. mjoy77 says:

    Good words, Anna!

  2. Shea says:

    Anna you are an amazing friend and I am so blessed to have you in my life! It is good to know that when I am ready to migrate back you will be there waiting!

  3. Shea says:

    Hi Anna, you have to try this recipe! It doesn’t even have chocolate in it and it still goes one my top ten desert list!

    Hummingbird Cake

    3 cups Flour
    2 cups sugar
    1 tsp baking soda
    1 tsp salt
    1 tsp cinnamon
    3 eggs beaten
    1 cup vegetable oil
    1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
    8 oz can of crushed pineapple with juice
    2 cups chopped banana

    Combine first five ingredients in a large mixing bowl; add eggs and oil, stirring until dry ingredients are moistened. Do not over beat. Spoon batter into 3 greased and floured 9′ round cake pans. Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pans 10 minutes; remove from pan, and cool completely before frosting.

    When you put the batter into the 3 pans it will not look like there is enough but it comes out awesome!

    Cream Cheese Frosting

    8 oz cream cheese frosting
    1/2 cup butter softened
    16 oz powdered sugar
    1 tsp vanilla
    Combine cream cheese and butter beating until smooth. add powdered sugar and vanilla; beat until light and fluffy. Spread frosting between layers, top, and sides of cake

Leave a Reply

